2008 Local Heroes Awards

Edible Communities 2008 Local Hero Awards
Honoring Local Food Leaders, Community by Community

This year’s Local Heroes were selected via an online voting process whereby readers of each magazine could nominate and vote for their favorite candidates in each of five categories including best farm/farmer, chef/restaurant, food artisan, beverage artisan and non-profit organization. The amount of participation and interest generated by our readers was staggering.

“The week in December when all the entries come in is one of the best times of the year for us,” said Tracey Ryder, Edible Communities president and co-founder. “We are awed and humbled by the efforts made in each community by their Local Heroes—those citizens in each community who make significant contributions to the local foods movement in their region. We know the message of building communities through food is being well-served by this incredible group of people.”

Congratulations to our Austin Local Heroes! We will honor them at our Edible Austin One Year Anniversary Party on April 20.

2008 Local Heroes – Austin

FARM/FARMER: Boggy Creek Farm, farmers Carol Ann Sayle and Larry Butler

CHEF/RESTAURANT: Jesse Griffiths, Dai Due Supper Club

FOOD ARTISAN: Tracy Claros, Sticky Toffee Pudding Co.

BEVERAGE ARTISAN: Mark and Matt Seiler, Maine Root

NON-PROFIT: Sustainable Food Center